Music Review: “The Gift”


https://i2.wp.com/0.tqn.com/d/oprah/1/0/g/1/-/-/susanboyle-the-gift.jpg

I bought this album last year, I believe, and I wanted to see what all the fuss about Susan Boyle was. I have to admit that I was surprised by how clear her voice was as well as the range she has. The downside is that I find this album so boring I am likely to not even add it to my Christmas playlist. Maybe that’s not entirely true, but it’s not something I’d actively go out and listen to.

The album isn’t exclusively a Christmas album, although six of the ten tracks are Christmas songs, so for the most part it is. The Christmas songs are very traditional renditions. They remind me of a choir recording, or something you’d hear in church or at a professional choir concert. Her voice is great, but the gentleness in every song makes me feel like there is a disconnect between her and what she’s singing, however beautiful it does sound.

I would say pick up this album if you’re a Susan Boyle fan, or if you admire traditional Christmas music, but if you want fun, catchy Christmas songs, I wouldn’t advise this album. It’s just not who Susan is. Below I included a video of Susan’s first audition on Britain’s Got Talent. Check it out!

One comment on “Music Review: “The Gift”

  1. […] These Are Special Times – Celine Dion 20. A Merry Little Christmas – Lady Antebellum 21. The Gift – Susan Boyle 22. Acoustic Hearts of Winter – Aly & AJ 23. Sounds of the Season: The Taylor Swift […]

Leave a Reply

