Music Review: “Merry Christmas II You”


Seeing how I got Mariah Carey’s new Christmas album, “Merry Christmas II You,” early, I can write a review early 😉

I liked this album. Maybe not as much as her first album, but it was still great. I like how the album had “Santa Claus Is Coming to Town” intro which led right into the first single, “Oh Santa!” “Oh Santa!” is a fun catchy song, but I don’t think she’s going to get the Christmas classic with that song like she did with “All I Want For Christmas Is You.” After “Oh Santa!” which is a contemporary Christmas song, she moved right into the classics with a medley of “O Little Town of Bethlehem” and “Little Drummer Boy.” “Christmas Time is in the Air Again” was another original song by Carey, and it was a great “peace and love for everyone” Christmas song.

The next song was “The First Noel” with “Born is the King” interlude. The songs were amazing, but at the end it started to get into a beat-driven song, and I didn’t like it. The following song was “When Christmas Comes,” which was a contemporary, yet somewhat classic Christmas s0ng. (If that made sense ;)) The next song was “Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane).” I didn’t like her version of this song very much. It sounded to hip-hoppy, which is not what I think of when I think of Christmas. It might grow on me. Who knows?

The next song was “Charlie Brown Christmas” which was a nice cover of the song. The ninth song on the album was Mariah’s duet with her opera-singing mother, Patricia Carey. They sang “O Come All Ye Faithful” with the “Hallelujah Chorus.” It was a nice song. I don’t really know what to think of her mother’s part. I’m not a huge fan of opera, mostly because I’ve never really been exposed to it. It’ll probably grow on me, but I liked the end when they came together to end the song. That was really something.

The next song was a live version of “O Holy Night.” It wasn’t as impressive as it was on the first Christmas album, but still amazing. Better than some singers could do. The next song was a really incredible song. “One Child.” It’s a Mariah-original, and could be another Christmas classic. This song could’ve been on her first Christmas album. That’s how amazing it is. I love it. Probably my favorite off the whole album.

The second-to-last song was a new version of “All I Want For Christmas Is You.” It’s not as bad as I thought it would be. Basically it’s the same song with the base track a little different and her adding different little flares to it. I like it. Not as much as the original, but definitely comparable. The last song was “Auld Lang Syne (The New Year’s Anthem).” I liked it. Definitely some great vocal moments in this song. I didn’t like the ending, though. It seemed weird. But then again, it’ll probably grow on me. I didn’t like her first Christmas album much when I first listened to it and now I love it 😀

The DVD was a thirty minute interview and look behind the scenes of making the album. I liked it. It’s interesting to see how they make everything festive in the middle of summer to get in the mood to record the album. She talked about why she decided to do another Christmas album, comparing it to the first one, working with her mother on it, album artwork and everything. You’ll probably be able to find it on YouTube sometime soon. If I find it I’ll post it.

I don’t like the cover of this album, but I love all the pictures inside and on the back. She said that the first album was like a during the day holy account of Christmas, and this new album is more like the night time fun part of Christmas. She said it’s part two of the first album. But the inside pictures with them being dark with the Christmas lights…oh it’s so amazing.

I highly recommend buying her new Christmas album. It has great vocal moments and is very festive. A great collection to your Christmas music collection. But of course you know me, I like all Christmas music 🙂 But if you liked her first album (which there is a good chance you did) then buy this one! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

One comment on “Music Review: “Merry Christmas II You”

  1. […] Eve – Trans-Siberian Orchestra 8. My Kind of Christmas – Christina Aguilera 9. Merry Christmas II You – Mariah Carey 10. Happy Christmas… – Jessica Simpson 11. Christmas Is The Time…To Say I […]

Leave a Reply

