Music Review: “American Idol: The Great Holiday Classics”


I really enjoyed this CD. Besides Clay Aiken and Kelly Clarkson, I really didn’t have a major image of these singers outside of American Idol. They are amazing singers nonetheless. Let me start off by saying that I enjoyed that this was a CD you could put in with the family. They were classic Christmas songs that were sung by amazing singers. I guess that’s what American Idol was going for. A family-friendly CD for a family-friendly show. They also did a Christmas special, which I hope I can find the links for soon.

The CD started off with an amazing rendition of “The First Noel” by Clay Aiken. I really enjoyed this song and I can’t wait to listen to Clay’s Christmas album, “Merry Christmas with Love.” The next song was “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” sung by Ruben Studdard and Tamyra Gray. Great performance. The third song was “O Come, All Ye Faithful” sung by the ensemble. I liked this. I liked how no one person had the spotlight, they shared it. They did another ensemble song with “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town.” The CD ended with Kelly Clarkson’s two Christmas songs, “Oh Holy Night” (a beautiful a cappella version) and “My Grown-Up Christmas List.” I love that last song. I’ve loved it ever since I first heard it back when I was in second grade 😉

This is a wonderful addition to any Christmas collection. Great to pop in and listen with the family. Hopefully I can find the links to the Christmas special soon!

One comment on “Music Review: “American Idol: The Great Holiday Classics”

  1. […] – Justin Bieber 13. Christmas Eve and Other Stories – Trans- Siberian Orchestra 14. American Idol: The Great Holiday Classics 15. Gold and Green – Sugarland 16. Let It Snow! – Michael Bublé 17. Glee: The […]

Leave a Reply

